New guy questions

Discussion in 'General' started by Neopolitan, Mar 10, 2020.

1. Neopolitan

Neopolitan Orc Pawn

In the early stages of planning to play here. My history in EQ is I played in 1999-2006. Left for WoW and have played on p99, p2002, TAKP and mangler. On mangler I 6 boxed with old work laptops and made it work with synergy app.

I’m a computer science major and part of what intrigues me here is the heavy CS influence this community seems to have. I’m completely new to MQ so I’ll have to learn that, I know the advanced guide is there to help me get started.

Aside from introducing myself here I have one question. Is this group setup a good one for a first group? It seems to allow me to be able to PL further groups once I get my first group started(consensus seems to be this is the play).

PEQ group

Warrior - think maybe SK but thinking my best geared tank being a warrior is advantageous? Would rather play SK for utility and flavor.

Cleric - no doy

Bard - duh

Mage - dps / DS

Monk - ez dps

Enchanter - CC

Any advice on this comp? No porter sucks but meh

2. acatu

acatu A Griffin

The question is will you be playing more than 18 long term? This will decide your group makeup.

If the answer is no then go

SHD
    Clr
    Shm
    Rog
    Brd
    Mnk

Setting up for a heavy melee dps this will level you the fastest and be the strongest comp in most situations. You can go war instead of SK this really only helps with tanking hard hitting bosses if you are duo raiding with someone they will most likely have a war already so no big deal. SKs are a better for xping since you can hold threat on multiple mobs easily. Enchanters are a waste of a slot at low levels since buffs are readily available in PoK and mez'ing isn't really necessary here.

If the answer is yes then go

Shd
    Clr
    Mag
    Rog
    Brd
    Mnk

Then for group 2 go with

Clr
    Enc
    Brd
    Wiz
    Wiz
    Wiz