Adventures with New Hardware for this Old Game! Help Needed Pls.

Discussion in 'General' started by Kelldor, Jan 16, 2023.

1. Kelldor

Kelldor Orc Pawn

Hi PEQ!

I'm Kelld, lvl 70 Paladin of Onslaught, and I'm pretty new to PEQ and boxxing with MQ, E3, EQBCS, and all of this cool stuff that I really wish I would have gotten into years ago! What you have built here is amazing! My brother (Cuda/Drisst) and I built some new computers over the Christmas break, and I wanted to take some time to share with you our experiences. We have had some ups and downs, and there's some lingering issues that you the PEQ community may have answers to that we do not! In hopes for your help, I want to be very detailed about the results we have experienced so far in hopes it saves you money, hassle, headache should you upgrade soon. This will not be a short post.

I'll first list our hardware specifications, and then explain some of the reasoning for those choices:

AMD Ryzen 9 7950X - 16-Core 4.5 GHz - Socket AM5 - 170W Desktop Processor (100-100000514WOF)

MSI MPG X670E CARBON WIFI DDR5 AM5 AMD Ryzen™ 7000 Series SATA 6Gb/s ATX Motherboards, Wi-Fi 6E, 2.5G Network Solution.

128GB of G.SKILL Trident Z5 Neo RGB Series 64GB (4 x 32GB) 288-Pin PC RAM DDR5 6000 (PC5 48000) Desktop Memory Model F5-6000J3040G32GX2-TZ5NR @ 30-40-40-96

Cuda/Drisst is using an
    ASRock OC Formula Radeon RX 6900 XT 16GB GDDR6 PCI Express 4.0 ATX Video Card RX6900XT OCF 16G

I am running an
    ASRock OC Formula Radeon RX 6950 XT 16GB GDDR6 PCI Express 4.0 Video Card RX6950XT OCF 16G

I am running an
    XPG GAMMIX S70 Blade M.2 2280 1TB PCI-Express 4.0 x4, NVMe 1.4 3D NAND Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) AGAMMIXS70B-1T-CS

Cuda/Drisst is using a couple of older Team Group Gen 3 1TB M.2's for now until Gen 5 comes out.

I have this PSU, Cuda/Drisst has the same thing but 1500 Watt version:
    CORSAIR AXi Series AX1600i CP-9020087-NA 1600W ATX 80 PLUS TITANIUM Certified Full Modular Digital ATX Power Supply